Shropshire Council Legal and Democratic Services Shirehall Abbey Foregate Shrewsbury SY2 6ND Date: Wednesday, 14 June 2017

Committee: Council

Date:Thursday, 22 June 2017Time:12.00 pmVenue:Council Chamber, Shirehall, Abbey Foregate, Shrewsbury, SY2 6ND

You are requested to attend the above meeting. The Agenda is attached

Claire Porter Head of Legal and Democratic Services (Monitoring Officer)

Peter Nutting (Leader) Peter Adams Roy Aldcroft Clare Aspinall Nicholas Bardsley Joyce Barrow Thomas Biggins Andy Boddington **Gwilym Butler** Karen Calder Dean Carroll Lee Chapman Steve Charmley Ted Clarke Gerald Dakin Steve Davenport Julian Dean Pauline Dee David Evans Roger Evans Hannah Fraser **Rob Gittins** Nat Green Simon Harris Nigel Hartin

Ann Hartley (Chairman) Nick Hignett Richard Huffer Tracey Huffer Roger Hughes Vince Hunt (Speaker) Ioan Jones Simon Jones Mark Jones Jonny Keeley Heather Kidd Nic Laurens Christian Lea Matt Lee Elliott Lynch Robert Macey Jane MacKenzie Chris Mellings Paul Milner David Minnerv Dan Morris Pamela Moselev Alan Mosley Cecilia Motley Peggy Mullock

Kevin Pardy William Parr Vivienne Parry Tony Parsons Malcolm Pate **Alexander Phillips** Lezley Picton Ed Potter John Price **Keith Roberts** Madge Shineton Harry Taylor Robert Tindall Dave Tremellen Kevin Turley David Turner David Vasmer Stuart West **Claire Wild Brian Williams** Leslie Winwood Michael Wood **Tina Woodward** Paul Wynn

Your Committee Officer is:

Karen Nixon Committee Officer, 01743 257720 karen.nixon@shropshire.gov.uk



www.shropshire.gov.uk General Enquiries: 0845 678 9000

AGENDA

1 Apologies for Absence

2 Disclosable Pecuniary Interests

Members are reminded that they must not participate in the discussion or voting on any matter in which they have a Disclosable Pecuniary Interest and should leave the room prior to the commencement of the debate.

3 Appointment of Honorary Alderman (Pages 1 - 2)

Former Councillor David Lloyd MBE has been invited to take the title of Honorary Alderman in recognition of his eminent service and to recognise the contribution he has made over the years.

Report of the Head of Legal and Democratic Services is attached.

Contact: Claire Porter Tel: 01743 252763

Agenda Item 3



Committee and date

Council

22 June 2017

12 noon

Responsible Officer Claire Porter, Head of Legal and Democratic Services

Email:Claire.porter@shropshire.gov.ukTelephone:01743 252763

APPOINTMENT OF HONORARY ALDERMAN

1.0 Summary

1.1 In accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 the Council may, 'by a resolution passed by not less than two thirds of the Members present at a meeting of the Council specifically convened for the purpose with notice of the object, confer the title of honorary aldermen on persons who have, in the opinion of the Council, rendered eminent service to the Council as past members of the Council but who are not then members of the Council'.

2.0 Recommendations

- 2.1 That former Councillor David Lloyd MBE be invited to accept the position of Honorary Alderman of Shropshire Council;
- 2.2 That, subject to his acceptance, in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, Mr David Lloyd MBE be admitted as Honorary Alderman of Shropshire Council in recognition of the eminent services which he has rendered to the county; and
- 2.3 That the common seal of the Council be affixed to a certificate conferring upon Mr David Lloyd MBE the title of 'Honorary Alderman'.

REPORT

3.0 Background

3.1 Former Councillor David Lloyd MBE has been invited to take the title of Honorary Alderman in recognition of his eminent service and to recognise the contribution he has made over the years.

- 3.2 David Lloyd's local government career spans many years; he was elected to Shropshire County Council in 1977, Oswestry Borough Council in 2003 and to Shropshire Council in 2009. He has held the position of Leader of Oswestry Borough Council, Chair of Shropshire Health Authority, an honorary life Governor of the Royal Welsh Agricultural Society and Speaker and Deputy Chairman of Shropshire Council. He has served on the whole gamut of Council committees ranging from planning and licensing to scrutiny, Local Joint Committees and, of course, full Council.
- 3.3 It should be noted that Honorary Aldermen who are appointed under the terms of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 may attend and take part in such civic duties as the Council may from time to time decide, but do not have the right to attend meetings of the Council or its Committees or to receive any allowances.

List of Background Papers (This MUST be completed for all reports, but does not include items containing exempt or confidential information)
Section 249, Local Government Act 1972
Cabinet Member
Councillor Peter Nutting - Leader
Local Members
All
Appendices
Nil